I Write Because…

Ever since I was a kid, people have been telling me that I was good at Mathematics. I was trained young by my Aunt who was a Mathematics coach. I brought that awareness with me even until I was in college. My teachers always wanted me to join Mathematics Fair and Quizzes. And I was told that when you are good at Mathematics, you can’t be good at writing, at English specifically. I couldn’t be someone who was good at both logic and art. But then again, ever since I was a kid, I have always kept a diary. When I was in college, I started a blog. I couldn’t remember what triggered me back then. I just started writing. But I couldn’t maintain a blog so eventually I stopped.

Then two years ago, there was this guy whom I met at work. He wasn’t a writer, he didn’t even read books like I do. He was a software programmer just like me. But there was something in him that made me write again. Or should I say he made me feel something that triggered me to write again. I was full of emotions that I felt if I didn’t write them down, my chest would explode. I wrote everything down. But I wasn’t consistent. Then we broke-up. It was at that moment when I began writing again. The words just kept flowing like a water out of a broken dam. I wrote twice as many as I did when we were still dating. But then again, my writings stopped. Until I got tired of my 8-6 office work. It felt like it wasn’t for me. I wanted to do something else. Something that I really liked.

I revisited my blog. But the inspiration wasn’t there. I tried the Daily Prompt, still, I was inconsistent. Then I met a new guy. I tried writing from time to time but it wasn’t like before. So I tried getting my attention back to my office job. But every day I would literally drag myself out of bed just to go to work.

After months of trying, the new guy and I broke up. It was a long story and it left me in a bad situation. I wrote again. And right then, I felt the passion, the drive, to write more. My emotions triggered me to write.

So yeah, if I would just sum it up, I write because of my emotions. I write because I can’t think of any other way to let my feelings out. I write because I can create a world where everything is okay. I can be whoever I want to be. I can do whatever I want to do. I can pretend to be someone else and to feel something else. I have the choice to make the readers feel how lonely I am, but I can also pretend to be totally fine and make them feel like it. And ever since then, writing has become my stress-reliever. It takes me to other time and places. I write simply because I can and I want to.

7 thoughts on “I Write Because…

Leave a Reply

