Nightmare of a Broken-Hearted

Lub dub… Lub dub… Lub dub…

Is it the sound of my heartbeat that I’m hearing? 

Why does it sound so loud? 

It’s so loud that I think my heart’s gonna explode

Lub dub… Lub dub… Lub dub…

I put my hands on my chest

But it isn’t there

The sound isn’t coming from there

Lub dub… Lub dub… Lub dub…

Why does my chest feel heavy?

Why am I having hard time breathing?

Why isn’t there any sound I hear? 

Lub dub… Lub dub… Lub dub… 

I run… As fast as I could

But my legs won’t move

And the sound follows me wherever I go

Lub dub… Lub dub… Lub dub…

Wake me up, please

Let me wake up from this nightmare

The kind that only heartbroken people have

The Daily Prompt – Nightmare

2 thoughts on “Nightmare of a Broken-Hearted

Leave a Reply

