Mother’s love is the purest

When you look at your mother’s eyes, you are looking at the purest love you will ever know. 

For One More Day, Mitch Albom


That has been my favorite quote for eight years now. 

And for eight years I’ve been afraid of receiving calls on wee hours. 

May 2008. 
I sent my mother that quote when I greeted her on Mother’s Day. She was so touched she even called me on my phone to tell me how much she loved it. I was so happy I made her feel extra special on that day. I wasn’t expecting to get that response from her. I thought it was just a simple greeting. (Proves how simple/small things we do can mean so much to someone). Little did I know that that was the last Mother’s Day she’d have on earth. 

Four months later…

At around 3 in the morning, I got a call from my brother telling me our mother was gone. I didn’t know what to do nor say. I just cried. I felt weak. The world around me went dark. I went numb. I just sat on the floor and cried for only God knows how long.

Seven Mother’s-Days(eight years) later…

Here I am. Still missing her so much. I could still feel the pain like it was just yesterday. And I believe that’s the only pain that the passing of time can’t heal. 

I’d do anything just to have one more day with her again. To tell her how much I miss and love her. And to tell her that I know much she had sacrificed for us. And that I appreciate everything. And to know if she’s doing okay. I need her to tell me she’s okay and that I’ll be okay too. I just need to be with her again. I miss her so much. 

PS. While everyone’s celebrating Mother’s Day, I was supposed to be celebrating my birthday instead my mind was busy missing my mother. Nevertheless, I’d still like to greet everyone a Happy Mother’s Day. 

Sacrifice

One thought on “Mother’s love is the purest

Leave a Reply

