I still love you, Dad

Seeing her blog about her father was not part of the assignment we had. Nor leaving a comment on it. But I just thought it could be the best blog for this. Here’s the link to her blog

The Father I Never Knew
When I was a kid, I couldn’t remember a day that I spent with my father. I was always with my mom. In all the school meetings, awarding ceremonies, all my firsts, my mom was there for me. 
If you’re gonna ask me now what’s my favorite childhood memory with my father, I can’t give you an answer to that. Because there’s really nothing to choose from. 

I don’t know where he’d been. But when my mom died eight years ago, he showed up. And he was never gone again. 

I wanted to ask him why? Why show up now? I wanna blame him for everything that’s happened to my mom. To us. There are situations that trigger my hatred towards him. 

But hating him won’t do me any good. It won’t bring my mother back. It won’t change anything. 

I can’t say I’ve totally forgiven him. But I’m willing to give him a chance. After all, he’s still my father. And he’s here. He’s with me. Maybe it’s never really too late for him to be a good father to me and my siblings. 

5 thoughts on “I still love you, Dad

  1. _Marielli says:

    I love this makes me feel a little more at ease knowing at least your dad came back not for a good cause but because he felt it was the guess the right time and is here for u now. God bless your mom she’s still with u in spirit. It’s hard knowing Jews home for so long. But your strong and so am I and we will move past I anger and be better people for ourselves and our families.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

