Life is like riding a bicycle…

When I was a kid, my brother taught me how to ride a bicycle. I didn’t start with the usual bicycle kids my age use when starting to learn riding a bicycle, the one with training wheels at the back? He would just hold the back of the bike’s seat to keep my balance and then push me until I gain my own momentum. He would then release the bike and let me take control of it. But once I found out he wasn’t holding the back anymore, I would stop pedaling out of fear that I might fall and get hurt. But my brother and I knew I could do it, that I could ride a bicycle on my own. I was just more confident when I knew he was there holding the bike for me to keep me from falling.

But I grew older. Life happened.

Just like riding the bicycle, I learned that there were things that I could do on my own but I didn’t because I was afraid of taking risks. There were people whom I thought I couldn’t live without but later found out I was better off without them.

Sometimes, all we just really need is enough self-confidence and trust in ourselves to keep us going… To keep the balance and take control of our own lives.

But I know there are things that are really out of our control. No matter how much we want to protect ourselves and the people we love from getting hurt, it just isn’t possible. We always make mistakes because hell nobody’s perfect. And that’s okay. As long as we learn from them. We may fall sometimes, but we need to rise up again and keep moving.

And if we ever feel tired, it’s okay to rest. But don’t quit! Don’t give up. Just keep on moving… 🙂

Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving. – Albert Einstein

3 thoughts on “Life is like riding a bicycle…

Leave a Reply

